Home » Powys candidates standing in General Election announced
Mid Wales Politics Powys Powys

Powys candidates standing in General Election announced

Polling Station Generic (Pic: Elgan Hearn)

THE OFFICIAL list of candidates standing in the forthcoming general election in both Westminster constituencies that cover Powys has been published.

All around the country at 4pm on Friday June 7, the nominations for wannabe politicians to stand in the general election next month, closed.

Soon afterwards details confirming who will be contesting the election on Thursday, July 4 emerged.

Boundary changes to equalise the number of voters in each constituency will see the number of MP’s returned to Westminster next month slimmed down from 40 to 32.

The only constituency to retain its boundary in Wales was the island seat of Ynys Môn.

This means that the old constituency of Montgomeryshire has had part of the Wrexham County Borough added to it.

The new constituency is called Montgomeryshire and Glyndŵr, and the list of official candidates is:

Jeremy Brignell-Thorp – The Green Party.
Oliver Lewis – Reform UK.
Glyn Preston – Welsh Liberal Democrats.
Elwyn Vaughan – Plaid Cymru.
Craig Williams – Welsh Conservative.
Steve Witherden – Welsh Labour.

In 2019, Craig Williams won the seat for the Conservatives by a 12,138 majority having received 20,020 votes, Liberal Democrat Kishan Devani was second with 7,882 votes and Labour’s Kait Duerden third with 5,585 votes.

The turnout was 69.8 per cent.

online casinos UK

Both Plaid Cymru and the former Brexit Party stood their candidates down at the last election due to deals between parties over Europe and Brexit.

Down in the south of Powys changes have also been made to the boundary of Brecon and Radnorshire with around 30 per cent of the old Neath constituency added on to it.

The new constituency is known as Brecon, Radnor and Cwm Tawe and the list of official candidates is:

David Chadwick – Welsh Liberal Democrats.
Matthew James Dorrance – Welsh Labour.
Emily Durrant-Munro – Plaid Cymru.
Jonathan Harrington – Abolish the Welsh Assembly Party.
Adam Hill – Reform UK.
Fay Jones – Welsh Conservative Party.
Amerjit Rosie Kaur-Dhaliwal – The Green Party.
Lady Lily The Pink – The Official Monster Raving Loony Party.

In 2019, Fay Jones won the seat for the Conservative with a majority of 7,131 having received 21,958 votes, Liberal Democrat Jane Dodds was second with 14,827 votes and Labour’s Tom Davies came third with 3,944 votes.

The turnout was 74.5 per cent.

Powys chief executive, Emma Palmer is the “acting” returning officer for both constituencies and is set to receive and extra payment on top of her salary for this role.

Parliamentary elections fees which are set at Westminster will be £3,572 for Brecon, Radnor and Cwm Tawe and £3,658 for Montgomeryshire and Glyndŵr.

The documents include a list of the polling stations for both constituencies.