Home » Rhiwcynon ward by-election takes place on June 4 
Mid Wales Politics Powys Powys

Rhiwcynon ward by-election takes place on June 4 

Polling Station Generic (Pic: Elgan Hearn)

TOMORROW, (Tuesday, June 4) a month ahead of the General Election, residents in one part of Powys will be going to the polls to elect a new county councillor.

Eight candidates including representatives of all major political parties have thrown their hats into the ring and will contest the by-election for Rhiwcynon ward.

The Rhiwcynon ward is roughly to the southwest of Welshpool and north of Newtown and is made up of the villages of Tregynon, Aberhafesb and includes the communities of Dwyriw and Manafon.

The election was needed following the resignation in April of former cabinet member and Independent group leader Heulwen Hulme.

Mrs Hulme served as a cabinet member for Highways, Transport and Recycling from 2019 to 2022 in the Independent/Conservative coalition administration which ran Powys up to May 2022.

Following the local election, Mrs Hulme took over the helm of the Independent group as they regrouped in opposition.

Polls close at 10pm and the count will take place at Tregynon Community Centre.

The candidates are:

Richard Edward Amy – Welsh Liberal Democrats.
Ann Jones – Plaid Cymru.
Richard Breese Jones – Independent.
Oliver Lewis – Reform UK.
David Markinson – Independent.
Rhodri Parfitt – The Green Party.
Paul Wixey – Welsh Labour.
John Yeomans – Welsh Conservatives.