Home » Conservatives extinct in Wales as Labour regains key battlegrounds
National News Politics

Conservatives extinct in Wales as Labour regains key battlegrounds

THE CONSERVATIVE PARTY is now extinct in Wales, returning no MPs, with the Labour Party reclaiming several key battlegrounds.

Labour has successfully regained important seats including Monmouthshire, Vale of Glamorgan, Bridgend, and Wrexham. Notably, the Monmouthshire result saw Welsh Secretary David TC Davies lose his seat, marking the fifth former Welsh Secretary to lose their place in Parliament after this election.

Former Welsh Secretaries Simon Hart and Stephen Crabb will not be returning to Parliament, having lost in Caerfyrddin and Mid and South Pembrokeshire respectively. Earlier in the night, Alun Cairns lost Vale of Glamorgan, and outside Wales, Sir Robert Buckland lost Swindon North.

Plaid Cymru has also made significant gains, securing four seats: Ynys Môn, Caerfyrddin, Dwyfor Meirionnydd, and Ceredigion Preseli.

The Liberal Democrats are celebrating a Welsh return to Westminster after gaining Brecon, Radnor, and Cwm Tawe.

The new political map of Wales following the 2024 General Election is as follows:

List of MPs Elected in Wales at the 2024 General Election:

  • Aberafan Maesteg: Labour’s Stephen Kinnock
  • Alyn and Deeside: Labour’s Mark Tami
  • Bangor Aberconwy: Labour’s Claire Hughes
  • Blaenau Gwent and Rhymney: Labour’s Nick Smith
  • Brecon, Radnor and Cwm Tawe: Liberal Democrats’ David Chadwick
  • Bridgend: Labour’s Chris Elmore
  • Caerfyrddin: Plaid Cymru’s Ann Davies
  • Caerphilly: Labour’s Chris Evans
  • Cardiff East: Labour’s Jo Stevens
  • Cardiff North: Labour’s Anna McMorrin
  • Cardiff South and Penarth: Labour’s Stephen Doughty
  • Cardiff West: Labour’s Alex Barros-Curtis
  • Ceredigion Preseli: Plaid Cymru’s Ben Lake
  • Clwyd East: Labour’s Becky Gittins
  • Clwyd North: Labour’s Gill German
  • Dwyfor Meirionnydd: Plaid Cymru’s Liz Saville-Roberts
  • Gower: Labour’s Tonia Antoniazzi
  • Llanelli: Labour’s Nia Griffith
  • Merthyr Tydfil and Aberdare: Labour’s Gerald Jones
  • Mid and South Pembrokeshire: Labour’s Henry Tufnell
  • Monmouthshire: Labour’s Catherine Fookes
  • Montgomeryshire and Glyndŵr: Labour’s Steve Witherden
  • Neath and Swansea East: Labour’s Carolyn Harris
  • Newport East: Labour’s Jessica Morden
  • Newport West and Islwyn: Labour’s Ruth Jones
  • Pontypridd: Labour’s Alex Davies-Jones
  • Rhondda and Ogmore: Labour’s Chris Bryant
  • Swansea West: Labour’s Torsten Bell
  • Torfaen: Labour’s Nick Thomas-Symonds
  • Vale of Glamorgan: Labour’s Kanishka Narayan
  • Wrexham: Labour’s Andrew Ranger
  • Ynys Môn: Plaid Cymru’s Llinos Medi

The Labour Party’s resurgence in Wales and the shifting political landscape will undoubtedly shape the future direction of Welsh and UK politics.