Home » Ammanford win Premier League T20

Ammanford win Premier League T20

AMMANFORD are the new Premier League T20 champions after they beat Neath convincingly in the final at Sophia Gardens to claim the trophy on Sunday (Jul 22).

Earlier in the afternoon, they had overcome Llanelli in confident manner, thanks to tight bowling and sensible batting.

Llanelli were all out for 107, Marcus Leaf being their main scorer with 40.

But brothers Rhodri and Rhys Davies, knowing exactly what they had to do, took their time and knocked off the runs without loss. Rhodri scored 56 not out and Rhys 33 not out.

Their opponents in the final were Neath, who had earlier disposed efficiently enough of Tata Steel.

Ammanford batted first, and looked to be in serious trouble on a difficult pitch, but a terrific innings of 63 from captain Alun Evans gave them a total to defend. After 20 overs they were 121 for 4.

Neath knew their target, but lost both openers in the first over to Sean Coaker.

The Ammanford bowlers, excellently supported by their fielders, not to mention a raucous section of the crowd, kept the pressure on, and Neath simply could not free themselves of the stranglehold.

Spinners Matthew Fisher, Matthew Roberts, Josef Davies and man of the match Alun Evans each took two wickets as Neath crumbled to 69 all out.

This will be an excellent confidence boost for Ammanford who meet Neath next Sunday in the quarter-final of the Welsh Cup.

online casinos UK