Home » Carmarthen Mayor’s 5K & Junior Fun Run Races make welcome returns

Carmarthen Mayor’s 5K & Junior Fun Run Races make welcome returns

ON Bank Holiday Monday (May 2), the 39th running of the Carmarthen Mayor’s Fun Run Races made a welcome return to the town centre. It gave the opportunity for the whole family to get involved.

Cancelled in 2020 and 2021 because of the pandemic, the first event in three years attracted runners of all ages and abilities from two-year-olds to experienced club seniors.

It was organised by Noelwyn Daniel and Sharon Daniel from Healthy Life Activities and supported by Carmarthen Town Council along with more than twenty local organisations.

The event was established by Councillor Peter Hughes-Griffiths, in partnership with Dr Hedydd Davies, the International athlete who has represented his country many times. In the period 1982-2006 there were 25 Welsh road race championships held in conjunction within the Mayor’s Race ranging from 10K up to half marathon and marathon championships.

With more than 600 runners entered for the 2022 event, the beauty of the Carmarthen Mayor’s Race is that they take place in the heart of the town centre.

The event once again raised thousands of pounds for several charities with many local groups and organisations benefiting. Proceeds in 2022 went to Carmarthen Foodbank, Air Ambulance Wales, Cilgerran Ward – Glangwili Hospital and Salvation Army Charity Shop.

The Mayor, Mayoress and Deputy Mayor of Carmarthen were on hand to start the races and present medals and trophies to all runners taking part.

As in previous years, the day started with the 5K fun run where runners started opposite Carmarthen bus station and ran along the town’s main roads a total of three times before the grandstand finish up at Guildhall Square. The 5K used chip timing results, meaning that all athletes were able to get their own individual time.

The overall male winner was Carmarthen Harriers’ Isaac Ayres in a time of 17 minutes 11 seconds. Six seconds behind in second was Ifan Bowen (17:17) with Guto Morgans finishing in third (17:20). Carmarthen Harriers trio Jack Tremlett, Jake Lynock and Steffan Davies were next in fourth, fifth and sixth.

Sioned Howells from Swansea Harriers was the overall female champion, followed by Llinos Jones (Swansea Harriers, 20:26), Noami James (Race Against Poverty Team 3, 21:36) and Rachel Allcock (Amman Valley Harriers, 21:56)

online casinos UK

This was followed by a series of junior races, featuring club athletes to those making their first steps in running. It began with the boys and girls in years 1 & 2 followed by years 3 & 4 completing two laps of the course. The halfway mark saw years 5 and 6 and then secondary school years 7 & 8 participate.

The final event of the programme was a category for the nursery and reception children over one lap, where the young ones could run alongside their friends and family.

First-placed runners in each of the eight races from years 1 to 8 were Elan Jones (Ysgol Saron), Josiah Tilley Gyado (Johnstown) & Ollie Evans (Nantgaredig) – Joint, Gwenno Jones (Nantgaredig), Jasper Davis (Llangynnwr), Lowri Morgan (Llangadog), Tomos Cai Davies (Y Dderwen), Esme Lynock (Bro Dinefwr) and Sam Griffiths (Bro Myrddin).

5K Results are available at https://triandenter.com/events/carmarthen-mayor-fun-run/


Overall Male

1st – 1af: Isaac Ayres – Carmarthen Harriers (17:11)

Senior Male

1st – 1af: Guto Morgans – Actif South Team (17:20)

2nd – 2ail: Gareth Wyn Evans – Top Step Triathlon (18:30)

3rd – 3ydd: Dafydd Walters – Carmarthen Triathlon Club (18:39)

Male over 40

1st – 1af: Jack Tremlett – Carmarthen Harriers (17:26)

2nd – 2ail: Matt Yelland – Clwb Run Wales (18:12)

3rd – 3ydd: Wayne Lewis – Amman Valley Harriers (19:05)

Male over 50

1st – 1af: Alec Williams – Pembrokeshire Harriers (18:55)

2nd – 2ail: Stephan Williams (19:10)

3rd – 3ydd: Huw Davies – Carmarthen Harriers (20:26)

Male over 60

1st – 1af: Peter Osborne – Llanelli AC (21:00)

2nd – 2ail: Paul Oughton (23:15)

3rd – 3ydd: Kevin Jenkins – TROTS (23:17)

Overall Female

1st – 1af: Sioned Howells – Swansea Harriers (18:31)

Senior Female

1st – 1af: Noami James – Race Against Poverty Team 3 (21:36)

2nd – 2ail: Lara Griffiths – Actif West Team (22:59)

3rd – 3ydd: Rachel James – Race Against Poverty Team 3 (23:23)

Female over 35

1st – 1af: Llinos Jones – Swansea Harriers (20:26)

2nd – 2ail: Clara Davies – Amman Valley Harriers (23:11)

3rd – 3ydd: Karen Brown – Race Against Poverty Team 3 (23:25)

Female over 45

1st – 1af: Rachel Allcock – Amman Valley Harriers (21:56)

2nd – 2ail: Hannah Golding (22:26)

3rd – 3ydd: Donna Morgan – Amman Valley (23:00)

Female over 55

1st – 1af: Linda Eynon – TROTS (22:04)

2nd – 2ail: Mary Anthony – TROTS (22:22)

3rd – 3ydd: Alison James – TROTS (24:28)

Year 9 to 11 Girls

1st – 1af: Carys Wood – Carmarthen Harriers (22:29)

2nd – 2ail: Martha Morgan – Carmarthen Harriers (23:05)

3rd – 3ydd: Megan Thomas – Carmarthen Harriers (23:05)

Year 9 to 11 Boys

1st – 1af: Ifan Bowen – Carmarthen Harriers (17:17)

2nd – 2ail: Jake Lynock – Carmarthen Harriers (17:36)

3rd – 3ydd: Steffan Davies – Carmarthen Harriers (18:02)

1st Corporate Team

1st – 1af: Actif Sport & Leisure East Team


Year 1 & 2 Girls

1st – 1af: Elan Jones – Ysgol Saron

2nd – 2ail: Alys Tremlett – Ysgol Nantgaredig

3rd – 3ydd: Farah Bowen – Ysgol Llangynnwr

Year 1 & 2 Boys

1st – 1af: Josiah Tilley Gyado – Johnstown School

1st – 1af: Ollie Evans – Ysgol Nantgaredig

3rd – 3ydd: Harri Morgan Daives – Ysgol Llanddarog

Year 3 & 4 Girls

1st – 1af: Gwenno Jones – Ysgol Nantgaredig

2nd – 2ail: Erin Davies – Ysgol Llangynnwr

3rd – 3ydd: Megan Jones – Ysgol Y Dderwen

Year 3 & 4 Boys

1st – 1af: Jasper Davis – Ysgol Llangynnwr

2nd – 2ail: Iwan Thomas – Ysgol Y Dderwen

3rd – 3ydd: Steffan James – Ysgol Y Dderwen

Year 5 & 6 Girls

1st – 1af: Lowri Morgan – Ysgol Llangadog

2nd – 2ail: Manon Phillips – Ysgol Peniel

3rd – 3ydd: Seren Bowen – Ysgol Y Dderwen

Year 5 & 6 Boys

1st – 1af: Tomos Cai Davies – Ysgol Y Dderwen

2nd – 2ail: Harri Truman – Ysgol Gymraeg Pontardawe

3rd – 3ydd: Noa Jac Thomas – Ysgol Y Dderwen

3rd – 3ydd: Osian Jones – Ysgol Saron

Year 7 & 8 Girls

1st – 1af: Esme Lynock – Ysgol Bro Dinefwr

2nd – 2ail: Annatasia Eggleston-Stoker – Llandovery College

3rd – 3ydd: Nia Seren Thomas – Ysgol Bro Myrddin

Year 7 & 8 Boys

1st – 1af: Sam Griffiths – Ysgol Bro Myrddin

2nd – 2ail: Toby Anthony – QE High School

3rd – 3ydd: Jimmy Davis – Ysgol Bro Myrddin