Milford Haven Rugby Club is located in a picturesque setting in Hakin overlooking one of the deepest natural waterways in the World. Rugby has been played in Milford Haven since the early 1900’s but was revived in 1932 when matches where played on the Cockle Bank, now the St Lawrence housing estate with changing facilities at the Avondale Hotel.
The present Club was founded in 1951 when matches were played at Marble Hall, the first game against Narberth, Milford captained by George Griffiths won 6-5. The present Club House built by players and committee members in October 1960 was officially opened on 21 April 1962.
The Clubs Trophies include Pembrokeshire League Championship, Pembrokeshire KO Cup (three times), Youth Cups and 7 Tournaments, all these successes have only been achieved by the hard work of players and committees, past and present. The Club also owes these successes and it’s survival to various local Companies who provide invaluable sponsorship.
In later years Mini Rugby was introduced and today the club is supported by over 150 players, with ages ranging from U7 – U11’s (Mini Rugby), U12 –U14’s (Juniors), run by enthusiastic and very hard working coaches, parents and helpers, a strong Youth Team coached by Alan Maclleland, Ioan Dolling and Dean Hadley, all ex –players, there are two sides. The First XV are coached by ex-Fijian International Emori Katalau and ex-player Rob Kingston, whose father Barry played in the successful 1970’s side.
The Club House can provide Social Events its Hall and Lounge Areas encouraging family and friends to come and support the local players. Senior players train on Tuesdays and Thursdays, Youth on Mondays and Wednesdays, Juniors on Wednesdays. All are welcome.