Home » Sporting heroes under spotlight

Sporting heroes under spotlight

SPORTING heroes across Carmarthenshire have been put under the spotlight for their achievements and contribution to sport.

The Actif Carmarthenshire Sports Awards recognise individuals and groups who have made a significant contribution in their field during 2019-2021 and the pandemic.

In a glittering ceremony held at Ffwrnes Theatre last night (Thursday, March 10), winners from 11 categories including Sportsman of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year and Sports Personality of the Year were honoured. The 12th category which was The Sporting Hall of Fame welcomed two inductees.

The awards, now in its 22nd year, are organised by Carmarthenshire County Council to highlight the importance of sport in the region and showcase county-wide sporting achievements.

Carmarthenshire County Council’s Cabinet Member for Culture, Sport and Tourism, Cllr Peter Hughes Griffiths said: “The annual awards recognise and reward those people who have made a positive difference and shown outstanding achievements in their field whether it be as an individual, coach, volunteer or sports team in disabled, non-disabled, professional and amateur sport. It’s been an exceptionally challenging couple of years for everyone with the pandemic and its restrictions but despite these struggles these people have managed to reach audiences in innovative ways and continued to and inspire them to be active during lockdown.”

Former Welsh Rugby Union coach Nigel Owens presented the event and MIND – Llanelli and Carmarthen were the nominated charity.

Categories and Winners

Young Sportsman of the Year

Frank Morgan – Athletics

Young Sportswoman of the Year

Emily Shawyer – Shooting

Young Sports Volunteer of the Year

Josh Edwards – Football

Sports Volunteer of the Year

Geraint Burrows – Football

Community Sport Coach of the Year

Rob Campion – Athletics

High Performance Coach of the Year

David Thomas – Gymnastics

Outstanding Services to Sport Award

Dave Rayson – Football

Young Team of the Year

Carmarthen Wanderers Cricket U17s – Cricket

Team of the Year

Carmarthenshire Karate – Karate

Community Sports Club of the Year

Ammanford AFC – Football

Sports Personality of the Year

Johnny Clayton – Darts

Carmarthenshire Sporting Hall of Fame

Robert Croft MBE – Cricket

Dr Helydd Davies MBE