Home » WRU announce new set up for next season

WRU announce new set up for next season

tenbywinHE WRU has finally released the leagues for next year, a restructure hoping to minimise travel and distance between clubs. 

But the restructure has raised concerns for the clubs in the lower rungs of the current leagues, as some of them may leap up to play clubs two leagues higher than them. In a letter to the clubs accompanying the new league structure, WRU administration manager Martyn Rees explains the process that has taken place and outlines the Union’s position. “We are all well aware of the concerns expressed by some clubs about the effect of the new league system and the consequent decision to have this issue debated within the forum of an Extraordinary General Meeting of the WRU,” said Rees. “Therefore, it is vitally important that you study the league document in detail in order to take an informed view of its impact on the season ahead for your club and the benefit of the whole game in Wales. “We all realise it is impossible for any radical change to achieve unanimous support across our club structure, but it is the view of the WRU that the structure as proposed addresses in a reasonable manner all the issues which have been raised. “It is vital when you consider the structure that you remember the call for change originated from a number of clubs who expressed concerns about the league structure as it stood. “Those concerns included, but were not limited to, travel costs, travel time commitments on players and volunteers and the desire to restore local derby matches in the best interests of the game.” The leagues affecting Pembrokeshire teams are as follows:

Championship: Swansea, RGC 1404, Cardiff Met, University, Pontypool, Narberth, Bargoed, Tata Steel, Tondu, Bridgend Athletic, Llanharan, Blackwood, Newbridge, Glynneath, Merthyr.

Division 1 West: Whitland, Llangennech, Carmarthen Athletic, Crymych, Gorseinon, Kidwelly, Newcastle Emlyn, Felinfoel, Ammanford, Amman United, Loughor, Tenby United.

Division 2 West: Penlan, Penclawdd, Pontarddulais, Tycroes, Cardigan, Llanelli Wanderers, Llanybydder, Llandeilo, Haverfordwest, Aberystwyth, Gowerton, Hendy.

Division 3 West B: Fishguard, Milford Haven, Pembroke, Pembroke Dock Quins, Neyland, Aberaeron, St Clears, Llangwm, St Davids, Laugharne.

online casinos UK