Home » Aberystwyth University announces 2024 Honorary Fellows
Aberystwyth Ceredigion Education Mid Wales

Aberystwyth University announces 2024 Honorary Fellows

REMARKABLE individuals who have excelled in sport, science, the arts, business, and the third sector will be honoured at this summer’s graduation ceremonies at Aberystwyth University.

The University will confer seven Honorary Fellowships to individuals with a connection to Aberystwyth or Wales, who have made an outstanding contribution in their field.

The 2024 Honorary Fellows are:

  • Professor Sir Stewart Cole KCMG FRS, internationally renowned microbiologist working in global health
  • Jess Fishlock MBE, professional footballer and coach, who has won 150 international caps for Wales
  • Clare Hieatt, co-founder of globally acclaimed ideas festival The Do Lectures and Hiut Denim Co
  • David Hieatt, co-founder of Cardigan-based jeans company Hiut Denim Co and The Do Lectures
  • Professor Uzo Iwobi CBE FLSW FRSA, Founder and Chief Executive of Race Council Cymru
  • Dr Anna Persaud, CEO and Founder of luxury British skincare and wellness brand, This Works
  • Manon Steffan Ros, award-winning author, columnist and scriptwriter

Aberystwyth University’s Vice-Chancellor, Professor Jon Timmis, said: “Graduation is a memorable occasion when we come together as a University community to celebrate the achievements of our graduates, and to welcome their supporters to Aberystwyth.  It is particularly exciting for me to have the chance to share in their successes for the first time as Vice-Chancellor.

“It will also be a privilege to present seven exceptional individuals from the worlds of science, the arts, sport, public service, business, and beyond as Honorary Fellows of our University, in recognition of their remarkable contributions.”

The University’s graduation celebrations take place from 16-18 July, with seven ceremonies taking place in the Great Hall at Aberystwyth Arts Centre.