Home » Anglesey Council announces Aethwy candidates in by-election
Anglesey North Wales Politics

Anglesey Council announces Aethwy candidates in by-election

Anglesey County Council

CANDIDATES standing in the forthcoming Anglesey by-election have been announced.

Anglesey County Council has posted the notice for the Aethwy ward.

The by-election comes following the death of Anglesey councillor and champion of grassroots football Cllr Alun Wyn Mummery of Llanfairpwll.

The seat fell vacant when he died aged 80 just before Christmas.

Today, Monday, March 6, Anglesey County Council has announced who will be standing.

The vote will be held between 7am and 10pm, on Thursday, March 30, 2023.

online casinos UK

Those standing are:

Steven Jake Green, of Menai Bridge, Anglesey for the Welsh Conservative Party.
Sarah May Jackson, Anglesey, for the Welsh Liberal Democrats.
Karl Richard Jones, Tyn Y Gongl,  Anglesey, for Welsh Labour.
Sonia Elizabeth, Porthaethwy, Ynys Môn for Plaid Cymru.

Cllr Mummery had been a member of the council’s executive committee and lead on the county’s housing and community safety issues and was a primary school governor.

Throughout his life, he was a passionate supporter of local football and in 2021 received a life time achievement award from Y Clwb Pêl-Droed Llanfairpwll.

To see the full details of the election process visit the Anglesey County Council website.