Home » George North pays tribute to first club
Anglesey North Wales Rugby Sport

George North pays tribute to first club

George North has made a touching tribute to his first club Llangefni as he prepares to win his 100th Wales cap against England.

North took time at today’s captain’s run for a photograph with a Llangefni shirt which will be displayed at Principality Stadium along with more than 250 other shirts representing the community game in Wales.

Tribute to Llangefni Stalwart

It has been a difficult week for the club and the wider community after 34-year-old player Huw Gethin Jones tragically died after COVID-19 complications.

North, who was brought up on Anglesey said, “It is fantastic to see all the club jerseys taking pride of place in the Principality Stadium. We all have a special bond with our clubs and I’m proud to see Llangefni up in the stand.

“It is even more poignant this week with the tragic news of Huw’s loss. It is a great shock to everyone and our thoughts and prayers are with his family and friends.”

Community Clubs recognised

Clubs, Female Hubs, Universities and mixed ability teams were invited to send in a shirt to represent the community game at the match and show their support for the National Team in the absence of being there in person.

WRU Community Director Geraint John said, “We know how much the clubs would like to be at the stadium themselves, and equally how much the players would welcome their support. In displaying the jerseys, we hope to bring the clubs and National Team together – while apart.”

There will be shirts representing Wales’ starting XV – from Wyn Jones’ Llandovery to Liam Williams’ Waunarlwydd, with an Ospreys shirt representing Tomas Francis’ first Welsh club. The jerseys of Trimsaran, Glamorgan Wanderers and Rhiwbina have been placed together in honour of former Wales captains Jonathan Davies and Sam Warburton, due to commentate on the match for BBC Sport.

Wales’ starting XV in community clubs:

15. Liam Williams – Waunarlwydd
14. Louis Rees-Zammit – Rumney
13. George North – Llangefni
12. Jonathan Davies – Whitland
11. Josh Adams – Hendy
10. Dan Biggar – Gorseinon
9. Kieran Hardy – Pontyberem
1. Wyn Jones – Llandovery
2. Ken Owens – Carmarthen Athletic
3. Tomas Francis – Ospreys
4. Adam Beard – Birchgrove
5. Alun Wyn Jones – Bonymaen
6. Josh Navidi – Bridgend Athletic
7. Justin Tipuric – Trebanos
8. Taulupe Faletau – Cross Keys

online casinos UK