Home » Estimated declaration times for each constituency in Wrexham and Flintshire
Flintshire North Wales Politics Politics Wrexham

Estimated declaration times for each constituency in Wrexham and Flintshire

VOTERS in Wrexham and Flintshire will head to the polls for the UK general election next Thursday (July 4, 2024).

Residents in the two counties will be choosing their next MP across four different constituencies following recent boundary changes.

These include the enlarged Wrexham and Alyn and Deeside seats, and the newly formed constituencies of Clwyd East and Montgomeryshire and Glyndwr.

Polls will close at 10pm on Thursday night, following which votes will be counted, with results pouring in through the night.

The PA news agency has created a guide containing estimated timings when constituency results are likely to be declared.

Boundary changes mean there is some uncertainty around these timings and the actual schedule may vary.

There are also sometimes delays in verifying and counting ballots, as well as hold-ups caused by recounts.

Full details on each constituency and the candidates standing can also be found below.

Estimated declaration times for each constituency in Wrexham and Flintshire

  • Alyn and Deeside – 3am
  • Wrexham – 3am
  • Clwyd East – 4am
  • Montgomeryshire and Glyndwr – 4.30am

Alyn and Deeside

online casinos UK

Candidate list:

  • Edwin Duggan – Independent
  • Jeremy Kent – Conservative Party
  • Karl Macnaughton – Green Party
  • Richard Marbrow – Liberal Democrats
  • Jack Morris – Plaid Cymru
  • Vicki Roskams – Reform UK
  • Mark Tami – Labour Party

Boundary changes

The Alyn and Deeside seat has grown in size since the last general election, expanding towards Flint following the removal of the old Delyn constituency.

Places covered include Aston, Broughton, Buckley, Caergwrle, Connah’s Quay, Hawarden, Higher Kinnerton, Hope, Llanfynydd, Mancot and Penyffordd.

The seat also includes Queensferry, Saltney, Sealand, Shotton, Treuddyn, Bagillt and Flint.


Candidate List:

  • Paul Ashton – Abolish the Welsh Assembly Party
  • Sarah Atherton – Conservative Party
  • Charles Dodman – Reform UK
  • Becca Martin – Plaid Cymru
  • Tim Morgan – Green Party
  • Andrew Ranger – Labour Party
  • Tim Sly – Liberal Democrats

Boundary changes

The Wrexham constituency has now been enlarged following the boundary changes, taking in some parts of the former Clwyd South seat.

The changes have seen the wards of Brymbo, Minera, Coedpoeth, Bryn Cefn, Gwenfro, New Broughton, Marchwiel, Bronington and Overton placed into the expanded Wrexham constituency.

This is in addition to other wards which were previously part of the seat.

Clwyd East

Candidate List:

  • Alec Dauncey – Liberal Democrats
  • James Davies – Conservative Party
  • Becky Gittins – Labour Party
  • Lee Lavery – Green Party
  • Paul Penlington – Plaid Cymru
  • Rob Roberts – Independent
  • Kirsty Walmsley – Reform UK

Boundary changes

This is another new seat which takes in part of the old Clwyd South, Clwyd West, Delyn and Vale of Clwyd constituencies.

This constituency covers a small part of Wrexham county borough encompassed by the Llangollen rural ward, including the villages of Froncysyllte and Trevor.

It includes locations in Denbighshire such as Prestatyn, Ruthin and Llangollen, as well as communities in Flintshire like Mold, Holywell, Mostyn, Northop and Caerwys.

Montgomeryshire and Glyndwr

Candidate List:

  • Jeremy Brignell-Thorp – Green Party
  • Oliver Lewis – Reform UK
  • Glyn Preston – Liberal Democrats
  • Elwyn Vaughan – Plaid Cymru
  • Craig Williams – Conservative Party
  • Steve Witherden – Labour Party

Boundary changes

This is an entirely new seat created by combining parts of the old Clwyd South and Montgomeryshire constituencies.

Some eyebrows were raised when the boundaries for this new seat were announced.

The wards from Wrexham county borough placed in the constituency include Esclusham, Ponciau, Penycae and Ruabon South, Penycae and Ruabon.

Other former Clwyd South areas included are Johnstown, Pant, Cefn, Plas Madoc, Chirk North, Chirk South and the Ceiriog Valley.

They will now be sharing an MP with areas of Powys some distance away such as Machynlleth, Newtown, Welshpool and Caersws.