Home » Bridgend Council announces new Mayor at annual meeting
Bridgend Politics South Wales

Bridgend Council announces new Mayor at annual meeting

A COUNCIL leader and new mayor have been elected for Bridgend County Borough Council this week at the local authority’s annual general meeting.

The council elects a new leader and mayor to lead and preside over council proceedings each year, with members deciding that councillor Huw David would continue in his role as the leader of Bridgend Council for the for 2023/2024 period.

Councillor David, who first became leader in 2016, was returned to the role without opposition at the meeting held on May 17, alongside Councillor Jane Gebbie who was also re-elected as the deputy leader.

Speaking on his re-election, Cllr David said: “Serving as Leader of Bridgend County Borough Council is both an honour and a privilege, and I would like to offer members my sincere thanks and respect.

“I will, of course, continue to devote my full attention and focus to the role, and to do my very best for the people that we serve. I am also grateful to receive the ongoing support of my Cabinet colleagues, and would like to acknowledge their ongoing dedication and commitment.”

Stepping into the role of Mayor for the term will be Councillor William Kendall of Brackla east central, succeeding Councillor Martyn Jones in the position. He will be joined by Councillor Heather Griffiths as deputy mayor, with the new youth mayor of Bridgend County Borough announced as Ellie O’Connell, alongside Daisy Davies as deputy youth mayor.

Cllr Kendall added: “I stand before you today with a profound sense of gratitude as I accept the tremendous honour of being appointed mayor of our county borough. I appreciate the trust and the confidence you have placed in me and I promise to carry out my duties with dedication and integrity.”

Cabinet portfolio positions for the year were also decided in the meeting with changes coming to three portfolios in all. The positions for the coming term will now go ahead as follows:

 Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Social Services and Health – Councillor Jane Gebbie
 Cabinet Member for Finance, Resources and Legal – Councillor Hywel Williams
 Cabinet Member for Education – Councillor Jon-Paul Blundell
 Cabinet Member for Climate Change and the Environment – Councillor John Spanswick
 Cabinet Member for Community Safety and Wellbeing – Councillor Neelo Farr
 Cabinet Member for Housing, Planning and Regeneration – Councillor Rhys Goode