AMANDA Blanc, chair of the Professional Rugby Board (PRB), is stepping down from the role and the Board of the WRU.

Ms Blanc was appointed chair of the PRB in December 2019 and followed inaugural chair David Lovett into the role.

The search will begin immediately to appoint a successor, with Blanc staying on as chair until a new appointment is made.

The PRB was created in 2018 and is responsible for running professional rugby in Wales on behalf of the WRU and each of the four regional sides.

Its Board consists of senior representatives from the WRU and each of the regions alongside two independently appointed members, including its chair.

The PRB is currently made up of: Amanda Blanc, Independent Member and PRB chair; Marianne Okland, Independent PRB Member; David Buttress – Chairman, Dragons; Simon Muderack – Chairman, Scarlets; Rob Davies – Chairman, Ospreys; Alun Jones – Chairman, Cardiff Rugby; Tim Moss, WRU Group Finance Director and WRU Group CEO Steve Phillips.