Home » Neyland heading to Lords for Indoor Cricket finals
22Sport Pembrokeshire

Neyland heading to Lords for Indoor Cricket finals

NEYLAND Cricket Club are heading to Lords after their victories in the Regional Finals of the ECB Indoor National Club Championship.

The Pembrokeshire side made the long trip to Taunton, home of Somerset County Cricket Cub, on Sunday, March 12.

They played Bournemouth in the only semi-final after Ventnor CC had to withdraw from their semi against Cheltenham Civil Service.

Neyland won the toss and chose to bowl first against Bournemouth. An excellend display saw them bowl Bournemouth out for 57 before reaching their target with only two wickets down.

That set up a final against Cheltenham Civil Service, who had beaten Neyland in the semi-final of last years’ competition.

Cheltenham were asked to bat first after Neyland won the toss but they could only reach a score of 78. Craig Baker scored 8 before being caught by Dai Davies off the bowling of Nick Koomen.

Paul Murray took the catch to dismiss Bradley Attwood on a score of 6, giving Koomen a second wicket.

Andrew Bates scored 12 before being run out by Nathan Banner and William Fell scored 14 before being caught by Banner off the bowling of John. Dai Davies also ran out Steve Bridge on a score of 4.

The Civil Service were indebted to George Leadbetter who scored 26 before he was caught by John off the bowling of Banner.

In reply, Nick Koomen and Paul Murray set their side up for victory with scores of 28 and 25 respectively before both retired not out.

online casinos UK

Leadbetter did trap Dai Davies leg before wicket but that was the only Neyland wicket to fall.

Nathan Banner and Sean Hannon then got the remaining runs needed to send Neyland to the Home of Cricket. It will be their fifth time playing at Lords and their first appearance since 2019.

The finals day will be played on Sunday, April 2. Neyland will play the University of Kent in their semi-final at 11am. There is one more regional final taking place on March 26 and the winners of that will play University of Sheffield in the other semi-final.