Home » Tenby town council loses five councillors overnight as new mayor is appointed 
Pembrokeshire Politics

Tenby town council loses five councillors overnight as new mayor is appointed 

TENBY town council has lost more than a third of its members after at least five councillors resigned yesterday night (Feb 7) during a meeting held at the Mayor’s Parlour.

Three previous mayors were among the council members who submitted resignation letters. One former mayor, Tony Brown, stated he was tired of ‘battling’ with a split council’.

Sue Lane, Tenby’s Deputy Mayor, has been on the town council for 36 years and had previously served as mayor for nine terms. She described the resignations as a “sad moment” for the local council.

Cllr Sam Skyrme-Blackhall, who has served as the mayor of Tenby for three consecutive years paid tribute to Cllr Lane. She said: “It’s very very sad that the time has come that she feels it’s time to stand down, but I do wish her well.”

Resignation letters from Cllr Brown, Cllr Lane and Cllr Matthew Ronowitz were read aloud during the meeting. 

Cllr Ronowitz said in his letter that he wished to concentrate on ‘a new business venture’. 

During private conversations, two further letters were handed in by Cllr Tish Rossiter, a member of the council for over 25 years and former mayor, and Cllr Lynn Attewell.

The resignations overshadowed the appointment of the new mayor who will take office in May. 

Cllr Dai Morgan was the only council member who put his name forward for the position of mayor, saying it would be ‘a great honour to represent this fabulous town’ as Mayor and he was looking forward to donning the scarlet robes of office.

Cllr Morgan was proposed by Cllr Duncan Whitehurst and seconded by Cllr Charles Dale. It was accepted by council members with a round of applause. 

online casinos UK

With five councillor seats currently available, new members will be co-opted unless an election is called.