Home » Ceredigion Youth Council elect new Chair and MYP for 2023-24
Ceredigion Mid Wales News

Ceredigion Youth Council elect new Chair and MYP for 2023-24

On 20 October 2023, Ceredigion Youth Council elected a new Chair and a new Member of UK Youth Parliament to represent Ceredigion in 2023-24.

Rosa Waby, a Year 12 pupil at Ysgol Gyfun Penweddig, was successfully appointed as Ceredigion Youth Council Chair who will lead the Youth Council in 2023-24.

Aeron Dafydd, a pupil at Ysgol Bro Teifi was elected as Ceredigion’s UK Youth Parliament Member for 2023-24 and will represent Ceredigion at the UKYP.

Rosa takes over from last year’s Youth Council Chair, Ifan Meredith from Ysgol Bro Pedr, whilst finishing his term as Ceredigion’s MYP for 2022-23 is Aled Lewis, Ysgol Gyfun Aberaeron.

Aled Lewis said: “It has been a privilege to represent the young people of Ceredigion as their UK MYP for 2022-23. My role, along with Ifan, has largely involved championing issues which are important to young people at a local and national level, with key policy makers and those in responsible for key decisions.

“It’s vitally important that young people are given a platform to raise their voice and opportunities to take part in the political process, and this was a fantastic opportunity to learn more about the work of MPs and UK government.”

Rosa and Aeron have already started work in their new roles, and will undertake various activities both locally and nationally during the year.

Gwion Bowen, Senior Children and Young People’s Participation Officer, said: “I would like to congratulate Aeron and Rosa on their recent appointments as part of the Ceredigion Youth Council programme.

“There are exciting opportunities ahead this year, and we look forward to working with both members who are already making a positive contribution to democratic processes when it comes to young people in Ceredigion.

“We wish them the best of luck for the forthcoming year. I would also like to extend our gratitude to Ifan and Aled who have both worked tirelessly to campaign and champion the voices of Ceredigion’s young people during their time in office last year. They have made a lasting impact and we wish them well for the future, and thank them for all their hard work.”

Both members recently met with Ben Lake MP; Councillor Bryan Davies, Leader of Ceredigion County Council; Councillor Wyn Thomas, Cabinet Member for Schools, Lifelong Learning and Skills; and Elen James, Chief Education Officer for Ceredigion County Council to discuss current issues and priorities.

Rosa Waby, newly elected Ceredigion Youth Council Chair, said: “I am excited to work with Ceredigion Youth Council to hopefully make positive changes to the lives of young people here in Ceredigion in 2023-24.

“I am passionate about a number of issues that currently impact young people and I feel that my position as Chair of the Youth Council will help me influence key policy areas through a variety of campaigns including the annual ‘Rhoi dy Farn’ ballot and working towards Ceredigion’s ‘Pawb a’i Farn’ event in the summer.”

Welcoming the new members, Councillor Wyn Thomas, Ceredigion Cabinet Member for Schools, Lifelong Learning and Skills, said: “Congratulations to the newly elected members. I would like to wish them well for the coming year and I look forward to working together and hearing their voices about issues that are important to the young people of the county.”

You can see the latest by the Youth Council by following Ceredigion Youth Service on social media.