Home » Candidates for the Dwyfor Meirionnydd Seat – General Election 2024
Gwynedd News North Wales Politics

Candidates for the Dwyfor Meirionnydd Seat – General Election 2024

AS the general election on July 4, 2024, approaches, the Dwyfor Meirionnydd constituency sees seven candidates competing for the seat. This rural constituency, known for its scenic landscapes and strong cultural identity, presents a diverse array of political perspectives.

Candidates Standing in Dwyfor Meirionnydd

Liz Saville Roberts (Plaid Cymru)
Liz Saville Roberts has been representing Dwyfor Meirionnydd since 2015 and is Plaid Cymru’s first female MP. She has a background in journalism and education and has served as the Plaid Cymru Westminster Group Leader. Roberts’ campaign focuses on advocating for fairer funding for Wales, investing in the local economy, NHS, and schools, and demanding more powers over natural resources to create green jobs. She emphasizes Plaid Cymru’s commitment to putting Wales’ interests first in Westminster.

Tomos Day (Conservative and Unionist Party)
Tomos Day, the Conservative candidate, aims to support the local economy and champion Welsh interests. His campaign highlights reducing taxes, improving public services, and enhancing infrastructure to foster economic growth. Day’s approach includes supporting local businesses and ensuring effective representation for Dwyfor Meirionnydd in Westminster.

Joanna Stallard (Labour Party)
Joanna Stallard, Labour’s candidate, was raised bilingually in Llangollen and became involved in politics through the Youth Parliament. Her campaign focuses on social justice, enhancing public services, and addressing the cost-of-living crisis. Stallard advocates for better healthcare, education, and economic opportunities for the residents of Dwyfor Meirionnydd.

Phoebe Jenkins (Liberal Democrats)
Phoebe Jenkins, representing the Liberal Democrats, is a working mother who prioritizes addressing the housing crisis, child poverty, and improving access to healthcare. Jenkins is also concerned about environmental issues, particularly water pollution. Her campaign promises to push for harsher regulations against sewage dumping and to ensure a fair deal for rural communities and farmers.

Karl Drinkwater (Green Party)
Karl Drinkwater, the Green Party candidate, focuses on environmental sustainability and social justice. Drinkwater’s campaign emphasizes the need for immediate action on climate change through local and national initiatives. He advocates for renewable energy projects, reducing carbon emissions, and protecting natural habitats. Drinkwater also stresses the importance of social equity and fair treatment for all citizens.

Lucy Murphy (Reform UK)
Lucy Murphy from Reform UK believes in a bright future for Wales, emphasizing the need for diverse training opportunities and reducing over-regulation and high taxation. Murphy’s campaign focuses on supporting the Welsh economy, raising the tax threshold, and controlling Britain’s borders. She aims to provide a genuine choice for voters and address local concerns effectively.

Joan Ginsberg (Heritage Party)
Joan Ginsberg, the Heritage Party candidate, is a retired teacher who has lived in North Wales since 1981. Her campaign centers on children’s education and well-being. Ginsberg is passionate about maintaining the cultural heritage of the area and ensuring that educational policies support the needs of local children and communities.

Campaign Highlights and Key Issues

The key issues for Dwyfor Meirionnydd voters include healthcare, economic stability, environmental sustainability, and cultural preservation. Candidates are addressing these concerns through various campaign promises and local engagements. With the diverse political landscape and the array of issues at stake, the election results in Dwyfor Meirionnydd will be pivotal in shaping its future.

online casinos UK

Voters are encouraged to participate in the democratic process and make their voices heard on election day.

For more detailed profiles and updates on the candidates, visit Who Can I Vote For.