Home » New Mayor and deputy mayor for Rhondda Cynon Taff for 2023/2024 elected
Politics Rhondda Cynon Taf South Wales

New Mayor and deputy mayor for Rhondda Cynon Taff for 2023/2024 elected

THE MAYOR and deputy mayor for Rhondda Cynon Taf for the next year have been elected.

At the council’s annual general meeting on Wednesday, May 10, Councillor Wendy Lewis of Labour, who represents Llwynypia, was elected the mayor for 2023/2024.

She replaces Councillor Wendy Treeby who served as the mayor of RCT during 2022/2023.

Labour’s Councillor Dan Owen-Jones who represents Tonyrefail East was elected deputy mayor.

Cllr Lewis thanked councillors for affording her the honour and privilege to serve as mayor and said she very much looked forward to her year in office which she had no doubt would be very eventful and busy.

She said: “I’ve always tried to give 100% to anything I commit to and I promise that I will continue to do so over the next year.”

Her chosen charities are Brain Tumour Research, The Natasha Allergy Research Foundation, Sands (Stillbirth and Neonatal Death Society) and Hope Rescue and she said each were very close to her heart.

She said: “As part of my duty I will also endeavour to support the upcoming National Eisteddfod and the armed forces.”

She thanked Cllr Treeby for her commitment to the role of mayor and congratulated the incoming deputy mayor.

The new deputy mayor, Councillor Dan Owen-Jones, also congratulated Cllr Lewis and thanked councillors for affording him the honour of representing the local authority as deputy mayor.

He said he was looking forward to working with the mayor to support and assist her during her term of office.

Labour’s Councillor Gareth Hughes was re-elected as presiding member with fellow Labour councillors Sheryl Evans and Barry Stephens elected as deputy presiding members.

Councillor Andrew Morgan, of Labour., was appointed as leader of the council again which makes him the longest serving leader since Rhondda Cynon Taf Council was set up.

Councillor Maureen Webber of Labour continues as deputy leader while Councillor Karen Morgan of Plaid Cymru continues as leader of the opposition with Plaid being the largest opposition group.