Home » Caerphilly win Youth Bowl Final against Llangwm
22Sport Caerphilly Pembrokeshire South Wales Sport

Caerphilly win Youth Bowl Final against Llangwm

CAERPHILLY were crowned WRU National Youth Bowl champions on Good Friday (Apr 7) as they beat Llangwm 32-15 in the final at the Principality Stadium in Cardiff.

The east-Wales side performed well throughout while Llangwm competed well but came up just short in the end.

Llangwm took the lead with an early penalty from Fletcher Picton but Caerphilly hit back with three unanswered tries, the last one converted for a 17-3 lead.

Picton responded with a second penalty and some desperate defending on the stroke of half time kept the score down.

However, Caerphilly went over for a fourth first half try to make it 22-6 at the break.

Llangwm started the second half well and three penalties from Picton brought the score back to 22-15 and the Pembrokeshire side were right back in the game.

There was then a yellow card to Carephilly’s Rory Thomas and Llangwm’s hopes were boosted further.

Ryan Williams then looked to create a chance for Caerphilly and his kick forced Llangwm to touch the ball down in their own zone. From that scrum Caerphilly worked their way over with Rhodri Rees going over for the try. Williams then added the extras to make it 29-15.

Llangwm were guilty of a couple of errors from lineouts but from one such where they got it right they set up a maul. Seb McIntosh broke off but when he was tackled Caerphilly were able to strip the ball back and clear.

Sam Lewis was then shown a yellow card for Caerphilly giving Llangwm another chance to attack but another infringement gave possession back to Caerphilly.

With time running out, Iwan Davis and Arwyn O’Loughlin then did well to prevent an almost certain try for Caerphilly as they got back well to ensure the ball was held up.

Caerphilly added a late penalty and after the restart they kicked the ball out to confirm their 32-15 win.

Caerphilly: Lewis Jones, Noah Evans (Capt), Charlie Undery, Ioan OIsen, Rhodri Rees, Jack Llewellyn, Harvey Picton, Sam Graves, Carter Pritchard, Tom Lewis, Thomas Amps, Harrison Parsons, Lloyd Nash, Jake Marsden, Ryan Williams. Kody Thomas, Lewis Griffiths, Etienne Hacket, Rowan Lyons, Liam Shaughnessy, Tyler Morris, Mackenzie Braddon, Jack Blunsdon.

Llangwm: Aled Rogers, Seb Macintosh, Charles Wilson, Seth Willington, Arwyn O’Loughlin, Sam Rickwood, Dom Asson, Joe Phillips, Ioan Hawkridge-Jones, Liam Rees, Aaron John, Fletcher Picton, Ieuan Gray, Iwan Davies, Harry Makepeace. Jake Thomas, Matthew Cole, Kieran Sinclair, Flynn Tjoonk, Owen Phelps, Alfie Elrick, Fergus Reynolds, Evan Thomas.

Llangwm RFC Youth
Officials for the Bowl Final