Home » Neyland win Indoor Welsh Championship for eighth time

Neyland win Indoor Welsh Championship for eighth time

NEYLAND Cricket Club were crowned Indoor Welsh Champions on Sunday (Feb 6) as they saw off competition from Ynystawe and Pentyrch at the Neyland Community Hub.

Prior to the day’s cricket, Neyland were presented with their new indoor league kit which is sponsored by More Wealth Management.

Henry Durrant, a member of the club and Financial Adviser at More Wealth Management, said: “We at More Wealth Management are delighted to support Neyland Cricket Club with their indoor league endeavours with this new coloured kit.

“As well as fielding four senior men’s and women’s outdoor teams, Neyland compete every year in the ECB Indoor 6-a-side Club Championship. On three occasions, the club have reached the final four in the UK with the finals held at Lords cricket ground.”

In the first game of the day, Neyland won the toss and chose to bowl against Ynystawe.

Neyland bowled well and took wickets at regular intervals. Ynystawe opener Morgan Hodges was trapped leg before by Sean Hannon and fellow opener Ceri Durke was bowled by Jack John.

Luke Garthwaite was excellently run out as Neyland fielded well.

Rhys Palmer and and Lee Hicks led a mini fight back for Ynystawe with Hicks scoring 15 before he was run out and Palmer reaching a score of 26 before he was stumped by Hannon off the bowling of Patrick Bellerby.

Bellerby’s wicket of Ben Northey saw Ynystawe all out for 65.

Neyland made light work of their target with Ashley Sutton scoring 25 before retiring while Bellerby was not out on 24 and Patrick Hannon was not out on 11.

Neyland in action against Ynystawe

In the second game, Neyland were asked to bat first but found themselves in trouble on 40-4.

Their innings was rescued by captain Sean Hannon and Jack John who took Neyland to a good total of 96-5.

Pentyrch bowler Simon Wood had earlier caused havoc as he claimed the wickets of Ashley Sutton (11), Patrick Bellerby (7) and George Evans (0).

Hannon then finished unbeaten on 37 while John was caught and bowled by Paul Mudge on a score of 19.

The pressure was on Pentyrch as they looked to chase Neyland’s target but they ultimately fell short.

Simon Hood scored 12 but was then caught by Patrick Hannon off the bowling of Jack John before Hannon had the wicket of David Gossett (3).

Will Cox was run out on a score of 14 and team-mate Barry Hole was run out on zero as they fell under pressure from some more excellent Neyland fielding.

Sean Hannon picked up the wicket of Matthew Gossett before Pentyrch suffered their third run out of the innings, leaving them all out on 39.

It meant Neyland could not be caught by either of their two visiting teams and their Welsh Championship crown was secured.

There was one final game to be played with the two visiting teams facing off against each other.

Ynystawe scored 102-5 in their innings before bowling Pentyrch out for 74 to at least secure the runners-up spot.

Runners up Ynystawe
Pentyrch CC