Home » Hakin beat Cwmamman to progress in Welsh Cup

Hakin beat Cwmamman to progress in Welsh Cup

HAKIN United made it through to the second qualifying round of the JD Welsh Cup on Saturday (Jul 30) as they beat Cwmamman United 3-0.

Prior to the match Hakin were presented with the Division 1 trophy after it had been confirmed that Goodwick had been deducted points for playing an ineligible player.

Cwmamman United had ten of their starting 11 making their debuts and it was Hakin who started well as they forced the Cwm keeper into a number of good saves.

Cwm came close when Alex Giardelli fired a free kick from just outside the box just over the bar and the sides went in at the break with the game still goalless.

Shortly after half time, Cwm lost Leon Croucher to injury and Hakin then took control of the game.

In the 47th minute, Jack Britton set up Shane Walsh to score and just four minutes later it was 2-0.

Leon Luby was the provider as he set up Jack Britton to score.

Hakin’s third goal came in the 70th minute when Matthew Broome set up Ashley Bevan to score to all but seal his side’s passage into the next round.

Their reward for victory over Cwmamman is a home tie against West Wales Premier League side Penlan.

The two sides met last season in the West Wales Cup in a hotly-contested game and it is sure to be the same this time around.

That tie is scheduled to take place on Saturday, August 20.

Before that, Hakin’s next game sees them take on Milford United in the Joe Lennon Cup semi-final on August 8.

Hakin United: Sam Franklin, Jake Merry, Camron Thomas, Jay Power, Matthew Broome, Jaden Chapman, Shane Walsh, Ashley Bevan, Jack Britton, Leon Luby, Nathan Banner. Subs: Hayden Dimond, Justin Harding, Laurie Haworth, Kieran King, Mark Jones.

Cwmamman United: Kai Rees, Leon Croucher, Cory Saunders, Nathan Davies, Callum Dougal, Grant Rees, Kieran Richards, Kevin Miorgan, Alex Giardelli, Kyle Ashford, Harrison Thomas. Subs: Sion Williams, Ronan Templeton, Scott Jewell, Elliot Jones, Sean Jewell.