Home » Quins edge closer t o Millenium Stadium f​inal

Quins edge closer t o Millenium Stadium f​inal

Carmarthen Quins 30
Newport 21

NEWPORT threw the kitchen sink at Carmarthen Quins, even leading 21-10 for a while in the first half, but finally had to settle for second best in an exciting tussle that saw the mighty Quins march into the last four with a 30-21 triumph.

An exciting first half produced an end to end spectacle, and in the nip and tuck early exchanges it was Carmarthen who got on the board first thanks to a Craig Evans penalty with just over three minutes on the clock. Dai Pattison responded to good effect by crossing powerfully for a converted try.

The game had opened up into a spectacle that was beginning to resemble a sevens game and Iolo Evans took advantage to regain the Quins lead with a converted try to make the score 10-7. This was to be the last time the homeside troubled the visitors line in an entertaining first half as Newport moved through the gears.

A second try from Llwarch ap Myrddin coupled with Dom Franchi’s score moments later left the home fans feeling decidenly twitchy at the interval. Geraint O’Driscoll’s trusty boot supplied the conversions and the visitors were 21-10 to the good.

Craig Evans reduced the gap on the stroke of half-time with a second penalty for the home side and then brought his side to within one score with a third success from long range at the start of the second half.

The game was then turned on its head when a careless pass was intercepted by Rhys Williams who romped home from distance to score, which allowed Evans to put the Quins ahead once again with his conversion, 23-21.

Five minutes later Dion Evans skipped away for Quins’ third try and Craig Evans took his match tally up to 15 points with another conversion to make victory safe.


  1. Dion Jones 14. Dylan Morgan 13. Iolo Evans 12. Rhys Williams 11. Jason Harries 10. Craig Evans 9. Kieran Hardy 8. Rory Gallagher 7. Ellis Lloyd 6. Chris Williams 5. Lee Taylor 4. Ben Thompson 3. Jevan Sebastian 2. Jack Haines 1. Ian Jones ©


  1. Steff Phillips 17. Ryan Elias 19. Aidan Laxton 20. Shaun Evans 21. Gareth George 22. Kieran Jones 23. Gavin Thomas .