Home » Last-gasp Woodrow winner sends Hakin to West Wales Cup final
22Sport Pembrokeshire

Last-gasp Woodrow winner sends Hakin to West Wales Cup final

HAKIN United progressed to the final of the West Wales Cup on Monday night (Apr 17) as a last-gasp winner broke Carew’s hearts.

Both sides had played on Saturday but rested several players for the semi-final, which was played at the Bridge Meadow with over 800 people in attendance.

Hakin had reached the semi-final last season, where they lost to eventual winners Seven Sisters, and they were keen to go one better this time around.

Carew were beaten finalists in the 2018-19 season and they too were also looking to get back to the final.

It was Carew who started strongest and they went ahead in the seventh minute. A free kick was headed goalwards by Sonny Phillips but after the ball hit the bar Sam Southcott was in the right place to give his side the lead.

Both teams created further chances but Carew held on to their lead until half time.

Hakin knew they would need to start the second half well and they did just that with Ben Aldred firing a low effort into the net.

Ten minutes later the Vikings were awarded a penalty. Half time sub Jack Britton stepped up to take it but Carew keeper Tom Davies dived low to his right to make the save.

At the other end Hakin United keeper Sam Franklin had to make a good save to keep the score level and moments later he was indebted to his defenders.

Tom Cole headed goalwards from a corner but Kieran King was in the right place to head the ball off the line.

online casinos UK

There was a chance for the Vikings but Woodrow’s header glanced off the gloves of the Carew keeper and out for a corner.

With extra time looming, Leon Luby sent a cross into the box and Woodrow headed home to spark joyous scenes amongst the players and supporters.

There was no time for Carew to come back as Hakin secured their place in the West Wales Cup final for the first time since 2003-04.

They will play West Wales Premier League side Penlan in the final at the Swansea.Com stadium on Thursday, May 11.

Nicky Woodrow celebrates his winner