Home » Neyland earn first win

Neyland earn first win

NEYLAND earned their first win of the season on Saturday (May 4) as they eased to a nine-wicket win over Burton.

Burton were asked to bat first after Neyland won the toss and it proved to be a good decision from captain Sean Hannon.

Matthew Webb fell early on as he was caught by Patrick Bellerby off the bowling of Henry Durrant and Sean then had Dillen McGaffin caught by George Evans as Burton slipped to 16-2.

Toby Hayman and Jonathan Venables shared 32 runs for the third wicket but Venable was bowled by Andrew Miller on a score of 22.

Hayman shared another 20 runs with Martin James but Geraint Rees then claimed his first wicket as he bowled Hayman on a score of 21.

Rees then struck again as he had James caught by Evans on a score of 10 and wickets continued to fall as no other Burton batsman made it to double figures.

Luke Hayman was run out by Bellerby on a score of 9 and Morgan Scale was caught by Evans off the bowling of Tom Pritchard.

Miller then bowled Dan Llewellyn, Pritchard bowled Iestyn Evans and Miller then bowled John Scale to leave Burton all out on 109.

Neyland wasted little time in reaching their target as Nick Koomen and Patrick Bellerby shared 107 runs for the first wicket.

Bellerby hit ten fours as he reached his half century but he was bowled by Dan Llewellyn.

Koomen finished not out on 48 with nine fours as Neyland reached their target inside 24 overs.

On Saturday (May 11), Neyland are at home to St Ishmaels while Burton host Carew.